Dr Jo Scott-JonesDr Jo Scott-Jones – Jo has been GP principal in Opotiki since 1992. He holds an MBChB (Sheffield UK 1986), MRCGP (UK), FRNZCGP, DGM, Dip Obs, Dip Sports Medicine, MMSc (Auckland). He is the immediate past Chair of the New Zealand Rural General Practice Network and has recently been appointed as the chair of the Rural Chapter of the Royal New Zealand College of General Practitioners. Jo is a member of the National Rural Broadband Initiative Advisory Committee and a member of the Executive Committee of the Rural Working Party of the World Organisation of National Colleges, Academies and Academic Associations of General Practitioners/Family Physicians (WONCA).



Deputy Chairperson

RHAANZ Profile2Craig Young – Telecommunications Association of New Zealand. Craig is the Chief Executive of the Telecommunications Association of New Zealand, a member based organisation which educates and advocates for the improvement of telecommunication services across NZ. Craig has been involved in numerous roles in the industry since joining CLEAR Communications in 1999. In his previous role at Chorus, Craig led the multilateral engagement with industry stakeholders and customers. He was heavily involved in providing leadership in several industry sectors including Chorus’ rural broadband commitments. He was responsible for the RBI Advisory Committee and has presented and represented Chorus at numerous Rural conferences.



Bill EschenbachBill Eschenbach – Bill is the Chief Executive of Rural Canterbury PHO and prior to this he was a Client Manager with South Link Health where he was responsible for rolling out Primary Health Organisations in the upper South Island. Bill has developed strong community linkages with a number of organisations including Territorial Local Authorities that has led to partnerships that have supported the continuation of remote rural primary care services through the developments of community trusts.

Bill has linkages with his local District Health Board, the Canterbury Alliance, the Ministry of Health, the New Zealand Rural General Practice Network and the National Rural Health Advisory Group.



Sharon WardsSharon Wards – Sharon is the Chief Executive of Tararua Health Group, a private company comprising two general practice sites and a community hospital located in Tararua, nestled between Wairarapa and Hawke’s Bay which employs up to 100 staff. The range of services provided by the group encompasses general practice primary healthcare, practice nursing, community nursing, hospital, maternity and radiology services.


Mark EagerMark Eager – Mobile Health Solutions. Mark manages the team at Mobile Health Solutions which includes oversight of the Mobile Surgical Bus. The Surgical Bus performs day surgery in rural towns around New Zealand. Mark is involved with Ministry of Health, DHB and Primary Care Organisations ensuring the efficient running of this rural service.



Bill NathanBill Nathan – Kaumaatua. Bill is from Te Ati Awa Taranaki, Ngaati Kahungunu ki Wairoa and Ngai Tahu.

View Other Council Members