In addition to the Executive Committee Members the other Council Members are:

RHAANZ Profile2Craig Young – Telecommunications Association of New Zealand. Craig is the Chief Executive of the Telecommunications Association of New Zealand, a member based organisation which educates and advocates for the improvement of telecommunication services across NZ. Craig has been involved in numerous roles in the industry since joining CLEAR Communications in 1999. In his previous role at Chorus, Craig led the multilateral engagement with industry stakeholders and customers. He was heavily involved in providing leadership in several industry sectors including Chorus’ rural broadband commitments. He was responsible for the RBI Advisory Committee and has presented and represented Chorus at numerous Rural conferences.


RHAANZ Profile4Katie Milne – Katie and her husband are dairy farmers in Rotomanu, West Coast of the South Island, where they milk around 200 straight Jersey cows on a pasture based system supplying Westland Milk Products. They also do local contracting making baleage, pit silage, and effluent spreading via slurry tanker and muck spreader. Katie is currently the chair of the local TB Free Committee, president of West Coast Federated Farmers, and is a board members of Federated Farmers nationally as well as being a current member of the National Animal Welfare Advisory Committee. As part of her role on the Federated Farmers Board Katie has recently taken over the Ag Health and Safety portfolio, which encompasses all aspects of farmers’ health and wellbeing including mental health.


RHAANZ Profile3Neil Bateup – Rural Support Trusts. Neil is a north Waikato dairy farmer having been a farmer all his life. Neil has served his community and industry in a number of roles, including School Committees, Boards of Trustees, Federated Farmers and served on Shareholder Councils of Livestock Improvement and Fonterra for a number of years. He also chairs a Community Trust which owns and operates a 200 person Retirement Village which includes a Rest Home/Hospital Unit. Neil chairs the Waikato Hauraki/Coromandel Rural Support Trust which along with 13 other Trusts across NZ provide an 0800 help service to rural people in need. He chairs the RSTs on the National Adverse Events Committee, along with one other on the Farmer Wellness Group.


Roger PartonRoger Parton – Rural Contractors New Zealand. Roger is the Chief Executive of Rural Contractors New Zealand, Managing Director of Partonius Ltd, a company providing Executive Director and management services to trade associations and not for profit organisations, Chief Executive of Aggregates & Quarry Association of NZ Inc., Director of Responsible Gambling Consulting International Ltd., Director of HelpCentre Ltd. and Director of Rural & Remote Human Services Ltd. Roger has a wealth of experience in governance and management roles throughout the rural sector. He is a Fellow of the New Zealand Institute of Management and a Member of the Institute of Directors.


Dr Chris HenryDr Chris Henry – Kaikoura Health Te Ha o Te Ora. Chris is an experienced Rural GP and Rural Hospital specialist, passionate about getting the best possible integrated care for rural communities. Moving from the UK in 1992, Chris practiced in Lyttelton before he and his wife Esther decided to take their five young children to work in the very remote Tokelau Islands. On his return to New Zealand, Chris spent four years training in Emergency Medicine in Christchurch, and then moved to Kaikoura where he joined the local practice in 2005.

A strong advocate for rural health, he was chair of the Kaikoura Hurunui PHO in 2009 and 2010, and a board member of Rural Canterbury 2010–2014. He is a member of the Emergency Care Coordination Team for Canterbury and the West Coast. Chris happened to be Christchurch when the 2011 earthquake struck, and went to assist with rescue efforts. In 2016 he was awarded the New Zealand Bravery Medal for the role he played at the collapsed CTV building. In 2017 Chris and his colleague Dr Andrea Judd were awarded the Peter Snow Memorial award for their work following the Kaikoura earthquake in November 2016.


rachael-pretoriusRachael Pretorius – College of Nurses Aotearoa NZ. Rachael is a Nurse Practitioner in Primary Care with Prescribing rights. She currently works at the Martinborough Health Centre. Prior to moving to the South Wairarapa she was based in the wider Auckland region where she held a range of nursing roles across general practice and Maori health providers. During 2013 – 2015 Rachael was the nursing representative for Procare’s clinical quality education committee.


cathy-brownCathy Brown – Dairy Women’s Network. Cathy is a dairy farmer, kiwifruit and avocado orchardist based in Tauranga. She has a comprehensive understanding of the NZ dairy industry and the rural sector in general. Cathy has been a trustee of the Dairy Women’s Network since 2009 and was their Deputy Chair 2010-2014. In 2011 she was a government appointee to the National Advisory Committee for the Rural Broadband Initiative. Cathy’s core values are focused on improving herself, family and community and her personal interests are bridge, gardening, walking, fishing and family sports.